As if Halloween wasn’t scary enough, former President George W. Bush has resurfaced to add a new mystique to his village idiot persona.  Someone actually paid for the ex-Prez to speak at a “Get Motivated!” seminar to inspire people. To do what I am not quite sure; invade another sovereign nations without justification, to fail ever upward in life only because of your namesake?  Who on Earth would take advice from this clown?  The event also included GOP regulars like Colin Powell and Rudy Guiliani.  I love the quote from one event attendee. He said when Bush misspeaks, it sounds "incompetent if you are president. But here it can be inspiring. It makes him seem like a regular guy, no better than me."  Why on Earth would I be inspired to do anything by someone no better than me.  I take my inspiration from people who used to be like me and made themselves great. 

As an atheist I was also dumbfounded by Bush’s following comment:

"I don’t see how you can be president without relying on the Almighty. Now when I was 21, I wouldn’t have told you that, but at age 63, I can tell you that one of the most amazing surprises of the presidency was the fact that people’s prayers affected me. I can’t prove it to you. But I can tell you some days were great, some days not so great. But every day was joyous." That, he attributed, to the prayers of others.

So genius, when I, as an atheist,  have good and bad days, whom am I supposed to thank, the tree fairies?  The sheer fact that he feels comfortable saying he can’t prove something but accepts it anyways makes me shudder. I hope that we never elect another man like this, ever again.  But I realize that as long as the majority of Americans are willing to accept certain critical ideas on faith alone we will certainly be capable of electing another Bush-like figure and letting said figure drag us into all kinds of mischief without question.   I guess that’s why he didn’t need “real proof” to invade Iraq. My only hope that is Mr. Bush will fade back into obscurity.  Call it denial, but I really don’t need to be reminded of how dumb we as nation were for 8 painfully, arduous years.

