Centro bus stop.JPGMoney well spent?  That’s a real good question.  As one of the only people I know who rides the bus, I can’t see how this will do anything to increase ridership or as the grant money is intended, encourage bus usage.  The same 5 people who ride the bus now will just find it a little (very little) more convenient.  Of this small number, the vast majority ride the bus out of necessity, not for some sort of moral or environmental concern.  Without an $8.5 million grant from the Feds, they would still have no other choice to get from point A to point B.  Don’t misunderstand me, I am all for making the lives of the less fortunate more comfortable.  My argument is that funds spent on mass transit, when there are limited funds to go around, need to be focused and spent on projects that have some chance of seeing a return on investment and increasing the viability of mass transit.  I firmly believe that you can have your new Transit/Hub center and encourage more riders.  I just haven’t seen any plan for that yet though.  Only the future will tell.  For the record, I’m not holding my breath.  For the full scoop or at least as much as is reported by the only newspaper left in Syracuse, click the link below.

Centro receives millions from feds for new downtown Syracuse bus hub | Syracuse.com

Windows Live Tags: Centro,millions,downtown,Syracuse,Beta,Money,usage,million,Feds,argument,transit,investment,riders,haven,breath

